I tried something new!, Swimming
Leave a Comment

What’s SUP: 3 Things I Learned about Stand-Up Paddleboarding

Image 1

This post is Day 18 of a 31 Days of October Blogging Challenge I’m attempting.  My topic is Loving Where I’m At. 

 

My super, awesome, super fun sister in law, Julie invited me to spend the day stand up paddle boarding on Tempe Town Lake with her today.  She has two SUP boards and the skill set to pluck me out of the water if I drown- so I was totally game!

 

She took me for the first time about a year ago and I loved it!  I chatted her ear off and paddled at tortoise speed.  I guess that would be tortoise on land speed… I think they’re faster than me in the water.  Wait… I just googled it and apparently most tortoise who fall in deep water “tend to sink like a stone and drown” so I’m pretty much spot on here.

Image 2

When I reached dry land after the last time, my legs were jello from knees locked in fear of falling.  I have swam in Tempe Town Lake on more than one occasion for triathlon, but always with a wetsuit covering all but my hands, feet and head.  For those unfamiliar with our lake… it’s man made- therefore murky.  Your first reaction is decidedly NOT to just dive in.  It may have also been known to be the home of the occasional dead body and/or other questionable debris.   Yikes!

 

For my second time around, I was a little bit wiser.  I picked up on 3 new ways to improve my SUP workout.  I wore my running belt (yeah, it’s pretty much a fanny pack) with water bottle holsters.  Last time, I was too scared to lean down to get my water and divided my time between sloppy paddling and trying not to choke on my own dehydrated tongue.  This time, I was happily well hydrated.

 

I also learned a little more about using proper paddling technique.  I was churning it up like a little Evinrude, when Julie delicately explained to me that we start as far up on the board, then pull back as closely to the side and then as far back as your arms will allow.  Oh, and don’t forget to break your knees a bit.  It helps everything- balance, comfort and how you are grounded on the board.  This keeps you moving straighter in the water and maximizes the effort.  Your lower hand pulls back while your upper arm pushes forward.  When Julie does it, it’s magical.  She speeds away.  When I do it, I get a really good ab workout.

 

And the final trick I discovered for a great workout on the SUP was to wear my two piece swimsuit.  Why you ask?  If you would like to get a killer ab workout- try doing all that pushing forward while pulling back business added in with the “plyometric” motion of sucking in your gut at the same time.  I’m pretty sure I’ll have washboard abs by tomorrow 😉

 

I covered my tail with board shorts, by the way.  This isn’t Hawaii after all!  It’s a fall day in Tempe!

 

Obviously I’m not an expert at stand up paddleboarding, but it is hands down one of the most relaxing ways to get a workout in and spend time with someone you enjoy.  If you get the chance- get out there and try something new!

Leave a comment